Reorganization Meeting January 6, 2020

Mayor Lucia announced all newly elected officials were previously sworn earlier by Magisterial District Judge Roger Eckels and all Council, Tax Collector and Mayor may take their seats.

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Lucia at 8:34pm in Council Chambers at 1 Etze Avenue, Mount Pleasant, PA 15666. The Pledge of Allegiance was said and there was a moment of silence for our deployed troops. Mayor Lucia directed Borough Manager Landy to take roll. Councilpersons present included Barnes, Bailey, Cholock, Phillabaum, Lasko, Ruszkowski, Wojnar, and Caruso. Deanna Istik, Solicitor was present. Mayor Lucia stated we have a quorum. Councilman Smetak present at 8:40pm.

Matters of Business:

Mayor Lucia called for nominations and elections for President of Council. Councilman Cholock nominated Councilman Caruso. There were no other nominations. Councilman Caruso was elected Council President.

Mayor Lucia called for nominations for Vice-President. Councilwoman Ruszkowski nominated Councilwoman Diane Bailey. Councilman Phillabaum nominated Councilman Cholock.

Mayor Lucia called for a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilwoman Diane Bailey for Council Vice-President:

Councilwoman Barnes	No
Councilman Bailey	Yes
Councilman Cholock	No
Councilman Phillabaum	No
Councilwoman Lasko	Yes
Councilwoman Ruszkowski	Yes
Councilman Wojnar	No
Councilman Caruso	No

The vote was 3 Yes and 5 No for the nomination of Councilwoman Diane Bailey for Council Vice-President.

Mayor Lucia called for a roll call vote for the nomination of Councilman Richard Cholock for Council Vice-President:

Councilwoman Barnes	Yes
Councilman Bailey	No
Councilman Cholock	Yes
Councilman Phillabaum	Yes
Councilwoman Lasko	No
Councilwoman Ruszkowski	No
Councilman Wojnar	Yes
Councilman Caruso	Yes

Councilman Cholock was nominated and elected Council Vice-President by a 5 to 3 vote.

Mayor Lucia turned over the meeting to newly elected Council President Caruso.

Council President Caruso called for nominations for President Pro-Tem. Councilwoman Barnes nominated Councilwoman Diane Bailey. Councilwoman Bailey declined the nomination. Councilman Cholock nominated Councilman Ken Phillabaum. There were no other nominations. Councilman Phillabaum was elected Council President Pro-Tem.

Council President Caruso read a resignation letter from Councilman Kenneth Phillabaum resigning from the 3rd Ward two-year seat effective January 6, 2020. Councilman Phillabaum won both seats in the 3rd Ward after Mr. Rogacki passed away. Councilman Phillabaum will accept the 3rd Ward four-year seat.

A Motion was made by Councilman Cholock to accept the resignation of Ken Phillabaum of the 3rd Ward two-year seat, effective January 6, 2020. Motion seconded by Councilwoman Barnes. Motion carried 9-0.

President Caruso called for nominations to fill the two-year Third Ward Council Seat vacated by Ken Phillabaum. Councilman Phillabaum nominated Mr. Michael Smetak. President Caruso asked for any objections. There were no objections.

Michael Smetak was appointed unanimously to fill the vacant two-year Third Ward Council Seat.

Council President Caruso assigned the following Committees.

1. Finance & Grants: Susan Ruszkowski, Chairwoman

Diane Bailey Patience Barnes

2. Human Resources / Ordinances: Jim Wojnar, Chairman

Susan Ruszkowski

Diana Lasko

3. Medic 10 Richard Cholock, Chairman

Susan Ruszkowski Ken Phillabaum

4. Parks & Recreation: Diana Lasko, Chairwoman

Ken Phillabaum Jim Wojnar

5. Property: Mike Smetak, Chairman

Patience Barnes Diana Lasko

6. Public Safety: Richard Cholock, Chairman

Susan Ruszkowski Ken Phillabaum

7. Streets/Stormwater: Diane Bailey, Chairman

Richard Cholock Mike Smetak

8. Veterans Park: Patience Barnes, Chairwoman

Diane Bailey Mike Smetak

9. Waste Water Treatment: Ken Phillabaum, Chairman

Susan Ruszkowski

Jim Wojnar

Council President Caruso discussed the responsibility of the Chairman of the Committees and asked that they hold meetings with their committees. President Caruso will be meeting with the Chairman of each of the committees.

Appointment of Borough Officials:

Council President Caruso read the following appointments to be made, if appointment is made without an objection, no second is required:

Appoint Deanna Istik as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor. No objections were made. Deanna Istik is appointed as Mount Pleasant Borough Solicitor.

Retain McClure & Wolfe as Borough Auditor. No objections were made.

Retain Gibson Thomas Engineering Co, Inc. as Waste Water Treatment Engineers by project. No objections were made.

Retain K-2 Engineering as Mount Pleasant Borough Building Inspectors. No objections were made.

Retain Mayor Gerald Lucia as Fire Chief/Fire Marshal for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Gerald Lucia as Emergency Management Coordinator for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Retain Marc Taylor as Emergency Management Deputy Coordinators for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Attorney Randy Klimchock as Solicitor of the Planning Commission for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Attorney Tim Witt as Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Richard Cholock as Chairman of the Civil Service Board for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Robert Regola as Government Consultant and Grants for the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Borough Appointments:

Appoint Councilman John Rogacki as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilman Ken Phillabaum as Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilwoman Diane Bailey as Alternate Representative to the Westmoreland County Boroughs Association. No objections were made.

Appoint Jeff Landy as Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilwoman Diane Bailey as Alternate Representative to the Library Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Councilwoman Susan Ruszkowski to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Caprice Mills as alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Jeff Landy as second alternate to the Tax Collection Committee. No objections were made.

Appoint Mike Ruszkowski as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. No objections were made.

Appoint Jeff Landy as Manager of the Borough of Mount Pleasant. No objections were made.

Appoint Mark Cypher as Code Enforcement Officer. No objections were made.

General Administrative Business:

Motion to adopt Roberts Rules of Order for Council meeting procedures. No objections were made.

Motion to designate President, Vice President and Borough Manager as authorized signers for Borough fund accounts. No objections made.

Motion to designate depositories of Borough funds as Standard Bank, Scottdale Bank & Trust, Somerset Trust Company and PLGIT. No objections were made.

Miscellaneous & Adjournment:

Councilman Wojnar and Council, recognized all of the local Emergency Services for their response to the tragedy on the Pennsylvania Turnpike on Sunday, January 5, 2020. Mayor Lucia stated he had never seen the response like this. There were 3 counties responding.

A motion was made by Councilman Cholock to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Councilman Wojnar. Motion carried 9-0.

Meeting Adjourned 8:59pm